Embassy of Russia to the DPRK

Russian Military Memorials in the DPRK

The burial-grounds of the Soviet military and civilian personnel are located in Pyongyang, Wonsan (Kangwon province), Chongjin and Rajin (North Hamgyong province), Hamhung (South Hamgyong province), Uiju (North Pyongan province). In all, there are 11 common and 345 personal graves. According to the information possessed by the Russian Embassy to the DPRK, the archives of the Ministry of Defense of the Russian Federation and data obtained from the Korean side the total number of the former Soviet citizens buried in the country is 1373 (of which 544 are unknown), including 991 military personnel (257 remain unknown). The main part of the discovered burial places dates back to the years of 1945-1948 and the later period up to 1959.

Besides, there are monuments (“Monuments of Liberation”) to the Soviet soldiers fallen in the battles for Korea’s liberation in Pyongyang, Haeju (South Hwanghae province), Nampo (South Pyongan province), Chongjin (North Hamgyong province), Tongrim and Sinuiju (North Pyongan province).

Local authorities – provincial and municipal People Committees, as well as appropriate committees of the Korean-Russian friendship societies are taking care of cemeteries (memorials) and keep them in a normal condition. Diplomats of the Russian Embassy, Defense Attaché office and Consulate-General in Chongjin visit these places on regular basis to check their condition and to hold wreath-laying ceremonies on memorable dates (Fatherland Defender’s Day, Victory Day, Day of Russia, Russia’s Diplomats Day and Korea Liberation Day). Due to joint efforts with the Korean side, military memorials are kept in good condition.